Now that is a soccer game. Andres Iniesta scored in the 93rd minute to send Barcelona into the final of the UEFA Champions League against Manchester United. Down 1-0 entering the final minutes of the match, Barca seemed to be all but dead, but the precise strike from Iniesta changed their fortune and sent Chelsea home shocked.
There were a lot of big calls by the officials during this matchup including the red card on Eric Abidal in the 66th minute and the non-call on a possible hand ball in the 95th minute after Iniesta’s goal. And yet, the right team won in the end. The red card was a terrible call. Abidal did not touch Drogba. It was a complete flop and did not deserve even a foul call whatsoever (well maybe on Drogba for diving). The hand-ball call was a better call. A shot from Michael Ballack struck off Samuel Eto’o’s arm, but it was clearly unintentional as the Eto’o had his back to the ball. Ballack and Chelsea protested profusely, but referee Tom Ovrebo would have none of it.
He called the game and Barcelona walked away with a win. Continue reading “Barca Tops Chelsea In Thriller”